buying a dissertation what is the abstract, how to start a college admission essay university, do my accounting assignment for me, writing a psychology research paper, college admission essay why i want to attend, college admission essays online plagiarism

News: Marvin Meteer Elected Secretary-Treasurer

April 19, 2016

Ginni Linn
Executive Editor/Print Manager
Office: (717) 763-0930, ext. 127

Meteer Elected Secretary-Treasurer of   Pa. State Association of Township Supervisors

Members of the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors have elected Marvin Meteer, chairman of the board of supervisors for Wyalusing Township, Bradford County, to a one-year term as secretary-treasurer.

The election took place during PSATS’ 94th Annual Educational Conference and Trade Show, held April 17-20 in Hershey. This is the largest municipal event of its kind in the state, with close to 4,000 attendees. The conference attracted township officials from every county in Pennsylvania except Philadelphia, which has no townships.

The secretary-treasurer is a member of the association’s Executive Board with full voting rights. Meteer also serves as vice chairman of the board, which is made up of PSATS’ five officers, seven Executive Committee members, and the immediate past president. The board is responsible for managing the affairs of the state association and meets frequently throughout the year to conduct business and plan new projects that will benefit member townships.

The Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors represents Pennsylvania’s 1,454 townships of the second class and is committed to preserving and strengthening township government and securing greater visibility and involvement for townships in the state and federal political arenas. Townships of the second class cover 95 percent of Pennsylvania’s land mass and represent more residents — 5.5 million — than any other type of political subdivision in the commonwealth.

Meteer previously served as PSATS’ assistant secretary-treasurer and as a member of the association’s Executive Committee, as well as its Publications-Public Relations, Resolutions-Legislation, and State Conference Planning committees. He is currently a member of the PSATS Grassroots Lobbying Network, which addresses legislative issues that affect every Pennsylvanian who lives in a township of the second class. He chairs the association’s Audit Committee and is the board liaison to the PSATS Townships Between 2,000 and 5,000 Population Committee. He previously was the board liaison to the Rules Committee.

Meteer, a former secretary-treasurer of the township, is the current president and past vice president of the Bradford County Association of Township Officials. He has served as chair of its Nominations Committee and as a member of the Resolutions Committee. He is also a recipient of the group’s President’s Award and was named, along with his wife, Maxine, as Wyalusing Community’s Outstanding Citizens for 2010. He was also a 2011 recipient of the Governor’s Award for Local Government Excellence.

Meteer, owner of the Main Street Sign Company and a retired educator, is treasurer for the Eastern Bradford County Council of Governments. He is also a member of the Greater Wyalusing Valley Chamber of Commerce, the Bradford County Farmland Preservation Board, and the Wyalusing Valley Rainbow Club.

He previously served on the Pennsylvania Pipeline Infrastructure Task Force and chair of the Local Government Work Group. His prior affiliations include president of the Wyalusing Industrial Development Corporation, director and founding board member of Wyalusing Area Ambulance Inc., and a member of the Bradford County Economic Development Advisory Board and the Chesapeake Energy Bradford County Citizens Advisory Panel. He also served on the Council on Finance and Administration for the Wyoming Annual Conference and Susquehanna Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church.

Meteer is a lay leader and choir director for the Wyalusing United Methodist Church, as well as lay member and certified lay speaker for the Susquehanna Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church.