buy make it simple resume, data analysis section of dissertation, college ruled paper for sale, online professional resume writing services groupon, dissertation on customer service youtube, how to write a good application essay narrative

Links in gold are for Members Only

News: Shirl Barnhart Re-elected President

April 24, 2017

Ginni Linn
Executive Editor/Print Manager
(717) 763-0930, ext. 127

Barnhart Re-elected President of Pa. State Association of Township Supervisors

Members of the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors have re-elected Shirl Barnhart, a supervisor for Morgan Township, Greene County, to a second one-year term as the association’s president.

The election took place during PSATS’ 95th Annual Educational Conference and Trade Show, held April 23-26 in Hershey. This is the largest municipal event of its kind in the state, with close to 4,000 attendees. The conference attracted township officials from every county in Pennsylvania except Philadelphia, which has no townships.

The president is a member of the association’s executive board with full voting rights. The board, which is responsible for managing the affairs of the state association, is made up of PSATS’ five officers, seven Executive Committee members, and the immediate past president. The board meets frequently throughout the year to conduct business and plan new projects that will benefit member townships.

The Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors represents Pennsylvania’s 1,454 townships of the second class and is committed to preserving and strengthening township government and securing greater visibility and involvement for townships in the state and federal political arenas. Townships of the second class cover 95 percent of Pennsylvania’s land mass and represent more residents — 5.5 million — than any other type of political subdivision in the commonwealth.

Barnhart was elected to PSATS’ Executive Committee in 2002. Before his election as president last year, he served as PSATS’ first vice president, second vice president, secretary-treasurer, and assistant secretary-treasurer. He also served as chairman of the executive board and as a member of the association’s Finance, Resolutions-Legislation, and Succession Planning committees. He is currently a member of the association’s Grassroots Lobbying Network, which addresses legislative issues that affect every Pennsylvanian who lives in a township of the second class, and is the board liaison to the Finance Committee. He was a 2007 recipient of the Governor’s Award for Local Government Excellence.

Barnhart is a roadmaster and the vice chairman of the board of supervisors for Morgan Township. He previously served as the emergency management coordinator and chairman of the board of supervisors. He served on the Governor’s Local Government Advisory Committee and is currently a member of the PennDOT New Products Committee. He is chairman of the Jefferson-Morgan Council of Governments, is a member of the Isaac Walton League and the Mather Christian Church, and serves as a firefighter and emergency medical technician with the Jefferson Volunteer Fire Company.

Barnhart previously served as chairman of the Greene County Planning Commission and the Advisory Committee for PennDOT LTAP (the Local Technical Assistance Program). He was vice chairman of the Greene County Solid Waste Advisory Board and served on the Southwest Regional Planning Commission and the Ohio Valley Water Resource Committee. He also has served the Greene County Association of Township Officials as president and vice president and was a member, firefighter, and emergency medical technician for the Clarksville Volunteer Fire Company. Barnhart resides in Mather with his wife, Jane.